Antimicrobial Resistance

Membership     Newsfeed        Events      Media


Gulf Coast Consortium for Antimicrobial Resistance

A collaboration of leaders in antimicrobial resistance researchers from all of GCC institutions as well as additional TMC institutions (Baylor, Rice, TAMHSC Institute for Biosciences and Technology, University of Houston, UTHealth [with the newly created UTHealth Center for Antimicrobial Resistance and Microbial Genomics], MD Anderson, UTMB Galveston, and Methodist Research Institute) have recognized the strength and potential of working together to solve the global problem of antimicrobial resistance. To this end they have formed this GCC cluster in 2016.

The GCC AMR seeks to create a robust collaborative research environment within the GCC and surrounding institutions focused on antibiotic resistance in order to increase basic, translational and patient oriented research (POR). Since the problem of AMR encompasses a variety of fields and is inherently interdisciplinary, the focus on this important problem will stimulate and strengthen collaborations among basic and clinical researchers (including clinicians) from the GCC Texas Medical Center institutions.

Upcoming Events

3rd Annual Texas Medical Center Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Stewardship, January 22-24, 2020
We invite you to REGISTER early for this exciting conference.  Confirmed speakers include Helen Boucher, Tufts University; William Shafer, Emory University; David Greenberg, UT Southwestern; Ryan Shields, University of Pittsburgh; Brian Werth, University of Washington; David van Duin, University of N. Carolina; Vance Fowler, Duke; Sara Cosgrove, Johns Hopkins; Victor Nizet, University of California San Diego; Edgar Sherman, Emory; Ying Taur, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Andy Koh, UT Southwestern; Cindy Sears, Johns Hopkins; Marion Kainer, Tennessee Dept. of Health; Chanu Rhee, Harvard Medical School; Kim Blumenthal, Harvard Medical School; Lilian Abbo, University of Miami; Anna Konovalova, UTHealth; Anthony Flores, UTHealth; Natasha Kirienko, Rice University; Gerald Bills, UTHealth; Ashok Chopra, UTMB; Julian Hurdle, IBT; Lynn Zechiedrich, BCM; Adriana Rosato, HMRI; Eric Brown, UTHealth; Sheldon Kaplan, TCH; Sam Shelburne, MDA; Isaam Raad, MDA; Luis Ostrosky, UTHealth; Luis Vega, UTHealth; Jourdan Andersson, BCM; Kevin Garey, UH; Christy Su, Memorial Hermann; Ed Septimus, Harvard and TAMU; Chase Janak, HMRI; Mandelin Cooper, HCA Healthcare; Dan Musher, BCM; Carol Baker, UTHealth; Flor Munoz, TCH; and Robert Atmar, BCM.
For more information and sponsorship opportunities, see CONFERENCE WEBSITE.

Recent Events:

Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Stewardship, January 23-25, 2019

Speaker Slides

Kevin W. Garey, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP, UH College of Pharmacy, presents “Which Antibiotics Cause C. difficile Infection?” July 13, 2017